How much did God know?

the-first-139665_640If you believe in the omnipotent, omnipresent God that I previously believed in during my Catholic days (yes I am an atheist) I would like to put forth an idea. Assuming that God is outside of time (because time is a construct that humans have created to keep track of our fast we can destroy each other), then we can assume that before God created humans he knew who would go to heaven or hell.

When I say that he “knew”, I mean just that. I am not positing that he predestined us to heaven or hell (although I do believe that if there was a God he MUST have predestined us, but that’s for a different post).

So, assuming that God knew how each individual person would use their free-will (whether that be to their demise [hell], or to their success [heaven]), why wouldn’t he simply take the people who misused their free-will out of existence?

The first thing that clicks in your head (and mine at first) was that this would be conflicting with the idea of free-will. Well, not exactly. God would be “foreseeing” your decisions (which were made using free-will), and simply saving you the trouble of suffering for eternity in hell.

This seems like a very simple solution that God must have overlooked. How exactly would this option be unfair or infringe upon anyones idea of free-will? The decisions would still have been made in a sense, just not followed through. I doubt that one person burning in hell would object if God had instead foresaw their downfall and canceled them out of existence before the mess started. For instance, if God could see before my birth that I would use my free-will in opposition to his wishes (which he technically could being outside of time and all), then I would very much prefer that a different sperm reached my mothers egg. Can’t we all agree that non-existence is preferable over eternity in hell? How unhappy were you before you existed?

After all, we as a human race had NO CHOICE as to whether we were brought into existence. It only makes sense to me that God should have saved everyone the suffering by simply pressing the delete button on the lives of those who choose the path of the heathen.

My intentions are not to insult anyone’s particular beliefs. My goal is to point out what I believe to be a flaw in God’s fairness.

Comments are Always appreciated 🙂

-AB

  5 comments for “How much did God know?

  1. NeuronTree
    February 26, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    I agree!
    Here’s the thing, if God knew each of our paths, and allowed us to continue on, then why even bother creating the earth? After all, the vast majority of us are destroying it, and so unless he is just setting his toy on fire for the sake of watching it burn, then is it logical to conclude that perhaps he is either a) is blinded by optimism, b) is flawed in that he cannot face the reality of the situation, or c) truly is not as all-knowing and all-seeing as s/he is made out to be? Or – had a severe OCD need for balance between heaven, earth and hell, but just some how forgot to count.
    I think we have free will, that or we’re just ants under a magnifying glass.

    • February 26, 2014 at 7:40 pm

      Exactly! It really does seem non-sensical to set something into motion that can be foreseen as a flawed design.. You may have already read it, but I’m curious as to what you think of my first post on free-will. Thanks for the comment!

      • NeuronTree
        February 26, 2014 at 8:26 pm

        I haven’t, but I’ll check it out now that you mention it 🙂

  2. March 8, 2014 at 3:57 am

    Austin this post cracks me up. It gathers all the ideas and questions I have about any god; but I would like to see them directed to actual deep south religious believers. I, for one, do not believe in a specific god, because the idea of a creature who performs magic, controls my life, and who ultimately has complete say in everything is a mythological story that came from man’s own mind. It is a simple, therefore, widespread belief. And the points you make about the “flaws in god’s plan” are actually there because the idea of god came from man. Has a god ever walked up to someone and said, “I am GOD”? No. Because then we would think he is crazy. But then again, we believe so whole heartedly in something we have not seen, touched, or scientifically proven exists.
    Man created god.

    • March 8, 2014 at 4:34 am

      Man’s creation of a God is exemplified even further in that God is anthropomorphized to such a great extent. Qualities such as anger, jealousy, pride, etc. are all that of what you see in man. An omniscient, omnipresent God wouldn’t have the flawed characteristics inherent in his creation.

Leave a Reply

