Why I write about religion

Ever since I was a kid I picked up very quickly that it is not very “sociably acceptable” to questions one’s religions beliefs. An overwhelming sense of taboo seemed to be inherent with the subject of religion.

I was dumbfounded that a claim to knowledge of the conditions and restrictions of everlasting eternity could not only be made, but was outside the realm to question without coming off as condescending.

Sure, I didn’t have the answers. I still don’t. But when a claim is made regarding a subject of most epic proportions, critical thinking and questioning should not be suspended.

I find the mindset that people should simply stay in their own corners and not bring up this sensitive subject to be tantamount to failure as a civilization that claims to strive for high moral and social heights.

-AB

  4 comments for “Why I write about religion

  1. June 25, 2014 at 9:23 am

    Exactly! Well said.

  2. June 25, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    BRILLIANT.

Leave a Reply

