Why you should tell me I’m going to hell

I have a love/hate relationship with religious people that, “spare” me by not  saying that I’m going to hell, or not telling me that I’m living a life of sin and need to change my ways.

Of course I love not being hounded by people like Westboro Baptist church members. Who wants to be told that they are living wrong? Or that you are going to burn in hell if you don’t share a common beliefs?

My problem is this. If you believe that you have discovered the answer to attaining an eternity of happiness, and you encounter people that have yet to come to the same realization that you have, then it is my belief that you have an obligation to help them despite their current beliefs.

Imagine an analogy of a man in a burning building. From the Christian perspective the fire foreshadows his impending doom if he decides to continue a life of sin. The problem is, he doesn’t believe that the building is on fire. Other people are in the building as well trying to convince him that he is not delusional, and that the fire is nonexistent.

Now, given this analogy, what is the right thing for the Christian standing outside of the building to do? Should he respect the man’s decision — atheism — and just hope that he comes to the realization by himself? I argue no. The only moral thing to do is shout as loud as possible at the man and even consider running in after him.

For a Christian to “respect” someones right to not believe by not attempting to evangelize them is a disrespectful action (or a lack of) in my eyes. It’s saying, “I think you’re going to hell,” but it’s more important to me to not hurt your feelings and just keep the peace. With that being said; despite my opinion that religion is an immoral outdated practice, if you earnestly believe what the bible says is true then it is your obligation to help others believe that as well.

-AB

  6 comments for “Why you should tell me I’m going to hell

  1. June 27, 2014 at 12:02 am

    I have family that routinely advise me I am going to hell. I laugh; their brains explode; I laugh harder. It’s great fun. So by all means, proselytize

    • June 27, 2014 at 12:07 am

      And that is exactly how to handle it in my opinion. If debate fails, enter laughter and acceptance.

      • June 27, 2014 at 12:13 am

        Yes, exactly. I won’t be angry with them. As good natured laughter is definitely contagious, we sometimes close laughing together. I see it as tolerance progressing toward acceptance.

  2. eyeontheuniverse
    June 27, 2014 at 12:26 am

    The religious people where I live rarely think anyone goes to hell for their beliefs, so fortunately I am spared this. But yes, it does seem on my ethical view that you should be trying to save someone’s immortal sould if you believe that kind of thing. Elaine on Seinfeld dumped her Fundementalist boyfriend over that very thing.

    • June 27, 2014 at 1:31 am

      Ah, how I envy where it is you’re from. Living in the South is definitely a place where I experience this issue often. I’ve come to accept that for believers, it is the moral thing to do..no matter how irritable it can be. Thanks!

      • eyeontheuniverse
        June 27, 2014 at 4:23 am

        Oh yeah, I did the living in the south thing back in grad school. Kind of an anthropological field study. Yeah…pretty much anywhere else is better. Well, developed non-Islamic states, I mean.

Leave a Reply

