If I am

I distrust René Descartes’s aphorism, “I think therefore I am.” This sounds like a claim for objective truth. I think therefore I might be, but I have no way to verify I am. If I am, then I could be correct about my various ideas and philosophies.

I claim no objective truth. Every idea I could ever conceive must be built on the assumption, “I think therefore I am.” If I am, then it might be possible to discover truth, but I might not be. I could not even be real in the way we have defined the word real. We have no idea what the truth is.

Every statement one makes is built off the supposition, “I am.” If I am… my philosophies follow.

 

-AD

Leave a Reply

