Atheist TV!

“The launch of Atheist TV is history in the making,” said American Atheists President David Silverman. “There are hundreds of TV channels dedicated to religious programming, but nothing like this has ever existed before for atheists, and yet the demand is overwhelming. For the first time, atheist video content—from firebrand speeches, to stand-up comedy, to documentaries, to real science-based educational programming, and more—is now available to atheists worldwide, on the air and all in one place. Atheist TV brings consistent, quality, superstition-free programming for children and adults, on the air and on-demand, right from your regular television. This is an idea whose time has come and we’re celebrating.” Hemant Mehta (http://www.patheos.com/blogs/friendlyatheist/2014/07/09/atheist-tv-channel-will-launch-by-the-end-of-the-month/)

 

I find this pretty interesting, although the cynic in me has a few doubts. When a belief grows we soon find many different versions of the aforementioned belief. I can see myself watching this network and hearing something I disagree with and before you know it I’m typing a blog post on my way to be an atheist. Then I will find myself in the position many people find themselves in. I will be defending MY definition of the word in the midst of all the excitement.

 

I’m glad to see services like this become available but I fear we will become too full of ourselves as our beliefs take over more. I hope we maintain a scientific and skeptical methodology. I have no reason to assume a statement is true simply because it comes from an atheist. I do not mind beliefs I agree with being popularized, but I am ready to challenge every statement and conform to the ones I can verify. As a skeptic I must adapt and remember the paradox of truth; There are no absolutes, but I’m not absolutely sure about that.

  2 comments for “Atheist TV!

  1. July 11, 2014 at 11:38 am

    I think it’s a good idea but I agree with your concerns.

    • July 11, 2014 at 6:38 pm

      Oh yeah. But mostly I’m pretty excited!

Leave a Reply

