I live in the bible belt

I’m typing this as I sit in my trigonometry class. I’ve been on wordpress looking at blogs about skepticism, atheism, science, and many other heathen topics. I have to be careful though, because a girl with a cross around her neck is glancing at my laptop. Christopher Hitchens’ face popped up on the screen and I thought I saw a look of indignation on her face.

She is onto me. I’m an atheist living in the bible belt. 

Not every atheist has the same experience, but I have not been met with tolerance for my lack of belief. People here argue about God all the time, but I’m not invited. I’ve been told it’s rude to ask people about their presuppositions in an argument if it concerns God. I’ve been chewed out by both religious and agnostic people for this. So I’ve learned my lesson. I’m quiet now.

But I hate being quiet. This world has children starving in the millions, stockpiles of nuclear weapons, an abundance of war, and a history so tragic it suggests the same for the future. These are important facts about the world that need to be addressed. I believe it should be acceptable for me to say out loud, “Maybe God isn’t looking after the entire world. People need real help, from real people.”

My friend started this blog a few months ago and I joined because I needed an outlet. So far we’ve had a mostly positive response. I’ve never really been complimented for being a skeptical thinker, and it’s nice to see the comments and messages people have been leaving. When I see the little star wordpress gives me when a post gets a like, I must confess, it’s a feeling I’ve never had before.

We just hit 100 followers and I am ecstatic! People are actually reading our godless ramblings. I’m very new to writing; I’ve actually never tried it before this blog. But I’ll keep at it and try to take this blog as far as it will go. Thank you everyone for all the likes and comments. I enjoy sharing my thoughts with anyone willing to read them.

I’m looking for a better world, one with more human happiness. In order to achieve this we need to start having a conversation about the world that we are all living in right now, the world we all share. Let’s have the conversation and see where it goes. The objective is human happiness. The tools are reason and love. Let’s make it happen.

 

Thank you for reading

-AD

  8 comments for “I live in the bible belt

  1. July 15, 2014 at 1:59 am

    Keep up the good work! 🙂

  2. TheCatssMeoww
    July 15, 2014 at 2:07 am

    I like this rambling. Whenever I search for posts I specifically avoid the ones that involve Christianity. It’s not that I’m against it or for it (I’m Switzerland) it’s just not what interests me. Posts like these interest me.

    P.S. She is definitely onto you.

    • July 15, 2014 at 2:38 am

      Thank you very much for reading! I’m glad you found it interesting.

      And haha maybe so. Kindest regards!

  3. July 15, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    I too was an atheist who grew up in the bible belt and surprisingly when I went to my school in the south, my roommates and I came unto our lack of belief at around the same time. I think our generation has the unique opportunity to release these religious chains and doing it exactly the way you described: with reason. And keep writing! I also just started to write on wordpress and I have to say it is a very liberating experience!

    • July 16, 2014 at 8:20 pm

      Indeed it is. Thank you so much for reading!

  4. July 19, 2014 at 4:03 am

    For starters, this line here, “Maybe God isn’t looking after the entire world.”

    I live down here with you as well, and I can say, that things are “odd” to be a place founded and branded on attempting to embrace one another.

    I have talked with a few people before who told me that they prefer the life and atmosphere away from such a place (the BB), due to the ways of thinking and the culture that it is soaked in.

    I hope you remain well, and looking forward to more articles.

    -N.N. Team

Leave a Reply

