From Quills to Joysticks

When I was younger I hated all things educational. I hated boring science videos and books. I wanted to play video-games! So I did. I bid farewell to paying attention to the realm of the erudite and I filled my life with shooting aliens and zombies.

Now I’m older and I’m back into the world of learning. I no longer wish to play video games. I desire to be educated! But something funny has happened. While I was enjoying the height of technology in advanced graphics and interactive high-definition displays in the video-game world, the academic world caught up.

As I rolled my eyes and enrolled in school, as I dusted off my text books and prepared for a world of pen and paper, little did I know that my schooling would enjoy the same luxuries that my gaming had.

Homework assignments are done online now. There are high-scores, points, badges, animations, interactive displays with fancy graphics, and many other things characteristic of a video game. Math is done on mymathlab or Khan Academy, language is done with Rosetta Stone, history is on Crash Course, and I bet I could find a pretty good website for grammar if I tried. Students are learning from youtube!

I’ve been conditioned to stare at a screen and staring at a screen is exactly what education now demands of me. I guess I can’t complain. It looks like the academic world has been formatted to fit my nature and I’m right back at it; it’s just a different game now. Time to beat that high-score.

 

-AD

  2 comments for “From Quills to Joysticks

  1. July 17, 2014 at 7:40 am

    …that’s a great Blog title! And in your studies…here’s hoping you truly blow away your last high score!

    • July 17, 2014 at 5:31 pm

      Thank you for reading! Kindest regards

Leave a Reply

