So, I met some Mormons

I was walking from the library on campus with my earbuds in and I heard a faint sound. Was it? Could it possibly be? Yes! The faint sound was a Mormon girl calling out to me. I hesitated for a moment, considered my escape routes, but concluded that I may be able to write about it.

After taking out my earbuds, I exchanged a few casually framed introduction routines. When she proceeded to ask me what church I went to the conversation starting going uphill. The conversation went in such a way that I felt like I was being too politely received. Instead of condemnation, dismissal, and perceiving every comment I made as being ad hominem, my opinions were actually being received as I received hers. Which is how conversations/arguments should go.

So, I met some Mormons.

-AB

  4 comments for “So, I met some Mormons

  1. July 16, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    When I worked for the Park Service, it was a pleasure woriking with and for our ‘Mormon foreman’ as they are very nice people. Since then I have learned a lot about the Mormon faith. This can be one of the most eye opening facts for them: (3 min) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D0u6clxJmI8

    There is an excellent documentary (1 hr) that lays out the history of this and is essential background material: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hcyzkd_m6KE

    • July 17, 2014 at 2:43 am

      They really were some very nice people. It was such an unexpected experience, and having not spoken to someone of the Mormon faith, I was able to learn a bit.

      I’ll check out those videos though. Thanks for taking the time to comment!

      -AB

  2. July 17, 2014 at 6:52 am

    I live in an area heavily populated with Mormons. These are some of the loveliest people you would ever care to meet–and they get treated like crap by every other Xtian sect. Talking snakes, virgin births, and heavenly mansions are perfectly legit, but ruling a planet in the afterlife? That’s just crazy talk.

  3. July 17, 2014 at 12:43 pm

    Mormons simultaneously make me very happy and incredibly annoyed. The LDS church makes me angry (have u kept ur ear to the ground with john Dehlin or Kate Kelly issues?) but the members.,, like cute convinced wonderful sheep 🙂

Leave a Reply

