Mormons!

I am an atheist, and although I disagree with religion, I still love my religious friends. I am also a liberal, and although I disagree with Republicans, I still respect my conservative friends. I am also a vegetarian, and although I don’t agree with supporting the meat industry, I still enjoy meals with my carnivorous friends.

If we want to achieve our goals democratically—without violence—we must learn to get along with the people we disagree with. If we want to persuade people to join our cause, we shouldn’t give them a bad impression of the cause’s members. 

I’ve always wondered how the mormons have such large numbers, and then it hit me, they are just so damn nice. Maybe they have the opportunity to proselytize because they’re polite, so people are willing to listen. You won’t catch me saying something good about religion often, but I’ll say it now. Everyone has a lot to learn about manners from the Mormons.

 

-AD

  13 comments for “Mormons!

  1. July 26, 2014 at 3:06 am

    I love the Mormons, they’re unfailingly polite, even when I greet them with the news that thanks to them, I’ve already converted, just not to Mormonism.

  2. July 26, 2014 at 3:28 am

    I have met a lot of nice Latter Day Saints folks over the years. It seems that they are nice to everyone except those people who leave the faith. I’m reluctant to paint with such a broad brush, but everyone I’ve met who is an ex-Mormon (only about six people, though I’ve read many more online testimonies) does not have flattering things to say about those still in the LDS faith.

    • July 26, 2014 at 4:35 am

      If that’s so that’s a real shame. Apostasy being a crime cannot be reconciled with human rights. Thank you for commenting! I’ve heard people who leave the faith can have a rough time.

  3. ktrinh4213
    July 26, 2014 at 10:28 am

    I’ve had Mormons come to my door. Apparently they got the information that my family was Vietnamese. A woman was there with her son and they were nice enough, but then she tried to speak Vietnamese to me, which I found was rather patronizing and annoying. I guess I have to commend her effort and courage though, it’s a difficult language to learn.

  4. July 26, 2014 at 1:48 pm

    “…..achieving our goals democratically – without violence…..”

    At this stage in human events, is this even possible anymore – among the religious? How can a culture of Deistical believers not come to the same operative idea that science is what’s pushing the foundation of EVERYTHING around us not crafted by human hands?

    I think that is where / when we actually begin to talk peacefully, democratically about our world-wide issues and ancient “cultural” conflicts.

  5. July 26, 2014 at 2:31 pm

    Just dropping in to say that I “liked” this not only for the post, but for the discussion as well. You have a wonderful blog and wonderful readers, too.

    • July 26, 2014 at 8:17 pm

      Thank you for reading! Kindest regards

  6. fortyfive9s
    July 26, 2014 at 8:43 pm

    I totally agree with you. It is about respecting that another persons belief is as valid to them as yours is to you. What annoys me is that many people of religion just simply don’t get that ( and a lot of non-religious as well). But people of religion just don’t get that I have a right to disbelieve or to believe something different. They try to convince me I am wrong and they do it by quoting a book I do not believe – their bible. Why can they just not say like I do – you have the right to your own personal truth but you do not have the right to try to intimidate others into your belief. Why is it so hard for them to understand that;
    I do not believe in god,
    I do not believe your bible is anything other than a very badly written book, and
    I do not seek your approval nor your prayers for a soul (the one I don’t have)
    Why is that such a difficult thing to understand do you think?

    • July 26, 2014 at 9:03 pm

      Because they believe in objective truth/morality.

      Objective truth says if God commands you to kill your child then that action is inherently good. I like our morality better. My morality says killing children is wrong (especially drowning an entire planet of them).

      Thank you for reading!

    • July 27, 2014 at 1:19 am

      “you have the right to your own personal truth but you do not have the right to try to intimidate others into your belief.”

      I hope you can settle for me saying you are entitled to your own belief and I don’t have the right to intimidate you in any way.
      Truth is truth, and regardless of what people believe it will always be the truth. So, while I think you are wrong, I respect your right to believe what you want and will support you in that.

  7. charles
    September 21, 2014 at 2:16 am

    “We must learn to get along with the people we disagree with.”
    Yes! Keep being a great example!

    I have been perusing your blog this evening, and I am thoroughly impressed.

    Liberty depends on the freedom to be wrong. I learn best by being able to say what I think, no matter how absurd, and then listening to feedback from others. Therefore, I am compelled to allow others the freedom to be wrong and to say absurd things. And I am compelled to demand that everyone has the right to criticize everyone else.

    • September 23, 2014 at 4:03 pm

      Well put. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

