Listening to music while blogging

In this post I want to address the many reasons why one may not receive the response desired from a blog post.

Sure, there are many reasons, including but not limited to: content, correct use of social media, tone, and many many others. But I want to address one writing aid that is indispensable.

Music! If you’re listening to crappy music whilst writing a post, your post is most likely going to be, well, crap. If you’re writing a pretentious post, then you sure as hell better be listening to some pretentious music; Otherwise, your post will most likely come across as a piece of non-pretentious nonsense. If you’re writing a jumbled up post with no true message, then you better be listening to today’s “pop” music. If you don’t, people will probably just not get it.

For those of you that do not listen to any music while blogging, don’t be surprised if the only responses you receive are from people with no taste in music. It’s science people. Taste in music is directly correlated with how a post will be received.

Sure, most of what I said above is complete bullshit, but I have been listening to very good music while writing it. That, my friends, is how I know it must be a good post.

-AB

  15 comments for “Listening to music while blogging

  1. July 27, 2014 at 1:57 am

    I see this post as a music review to blogging, as well as an attempt to weed out the tones and various genres that can be benefited from listen to tunes while writing a blog post.

    I think it varies, for sure. Say that person who does not listen to anything writes something, the rest of the hundreds of thousands of bloggers who do the same may “vibe” right along with this person’s specific blogging style since they all listen to no music.

    Just like music, blogging has its own crowd that it caters to.

    • July 27, 2014 at 5:00 am

      Very true. I do believe that music can play a big part in your writing style. The degree, I’m not sure of. But I can attest that my posts have small variations depending on what I’m listening to.

      Thank you for the comment!

      -AB

      • July 27, 2014 at 5:54 pm

        I must thank you, AB. I woke up this morning (afternoon), and after reading your comment, I was motivated to shake the fear add a new feature / reason for blogging within the realm of my blog.

        “Bloggin ova Beats”……..

        More to come.

        -N.N.

  2. July 27, 2014 at 4:21 am

    Music is a constant in my life. I listen to it while doing everything. My personal favorite for writing is my perfectly tweaked playlist of industrial, but that’s just me.

    You made me chuckle when calling your theory bullshit. Maybe so, maybe not, but I enjoyed it!

    • July 27, 2014 at 5:04 am

      It’s interesting seeing the different interpretations of this post.

      Music has had a large influence in my writing, so I wrote this post as a sarcastic analyzation of it I suppose.

      Whether or not my music is reflected through my writing, it sure as hell makes writing all the more fun!

      Thanks for the comment!
      (Plus I’ve never heard of industrial. I’ll look that up)

      -AB

      • July 27, 2014 at 6:43 am

        Music influences my writing to an extent. I’ve become so accustomed to having music playing that is just part of the environment, so writing without it would just be weird and off.

        You’re welcome for the comment.

        Industrial isn’t for everyone, so just keep an open mind. Some of the best is Skinny Puppy, Ministry, :wumpscut:, Combichrist…There’s tons of them. I personally prefer the noisier, grittier sounding end of the industrial spectrum. Hope you find something you like. I love leading people toward new music!

  3. July 27, 2014 at 5:20 am

    Interesting.

    • July 28, 2014 at 9:45 pm

      Your interest interests me.

      Thanks for the comment LFFL!

      -AB

  4. July 27, 2014 at 3:24 pm

    I listened to Babymetal when I wrote my last post…lol

    • July 28, 2014 at 9:44 pm

      Babymetal! What is this madness?? Haha.

      Thanks for the comment!

      -AB

      • July 28, 2014 at 9:48 pm

        It’s a cross between metal and J-pop…it was odd at first, but it’s kind of grown on me…lol https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIKqgE4BwAY…let me know what you think…haha

      • July 28, 2014 at 9:53 pm

        I think I need time to process my confusion as to what I just watched haha. Very interesting.

      • July 28, 2014 at 9:55 pm

        Yes, it does have that effect, I’ve found.

  5. July 28, 2014 at 3:14 pm

    I saw this post yesterday; woke up this morning to do a last edit on some posts (one of my least favorite parts of the writing process, I’ll admit) but when pandora puts on a song like this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vbttZVTSJRU) it can’t help but make the experience feel downright epic. Maybe you’re on to something!

    • July 28, 2014 at 7:49 pm

      It’s Two Steps From Hell! haha. They have some awesome music to. I’m sure music influences writing in some way…just not exactly sure how..

      Thanks for the comment!
      -AB

Leave a Reply

