Coffee and blogging

I recently made a post about listening to music while blogging/writing. The previous post was intended to have a large comedic overtone, so I was pleasantly surprised by some of the comments I received. Some responses relayed the idea that music is a big part of your writing process as well. So it got me thinking, what else aids the writing process?

For me, it’s coffee; lots of coffee. I assume that I need so much coffee because my posts are so boring. I’d fall asleep otherwise. I don’t know. Either way, coffee allows me to do this writing thing in the best way I know possible. I wonder if that’s why so many writers have fallen into a drug trap? Is it to keep themselves awake just long enough to jot down their ideas before having a narcoleptic episode?

-AB

  4 comments for “Coffee and blogging

  1. July 28, 2014 at 10:01 pm

    I once read that Hemingway said, “Write drunk, edit sober.” I couldn’t write while drunk so I kind of put my own spin on it: Write with wine, edit with coffee. Then I learned that Hemingway never said that. But it’s too late now…

    • July 28, 2014 at 10:15 pm

      I’ve heard that quote before as well haha. At least you were able to revise the quote to fit your writing preference before abandoning it completely!
      Write with wine, edit with coffee…I may have to remember that.

      Thanks for the comment!

      -AB

  2. July 28, 2014 at 11:10 pm

    Coffee, air conditioning and quiet. I don’t want to write decaffeinated, sweaty or annoyed. Lol

  3. July 29, 2014 at 1:29 am

    A cool and quiet environment and a pack of cigarettes. I know it’s horrible, but I just can’t seem to put the bastards down.

Leave a Reply

