My meaning of life

When I was religious I believed there would be a time in which justice would be served. I was absolutely convinced that everything would work out in the end. Those who deserved happiness would receive happiness. Now that I’m an atheist, I don’t believe everything will work out in the end. I do not believe we are guaranteed justice in this unjust world.

I was upset when I began to doubt my faith. I hated God for letting the world be so unfair. Then the last bits of faith I had faded and I was left with no god to blame for the condition of the world. This made it even worse. Who could I blame now that I couldn’t say it was all God’s fault?

The answer to that question changed my entire life. The way the world is today is the product of man. This means man shaped the broken world we live in. I realized that we are responsible for this world. I realized that if we want to change the world, we simply have to do it ourselves. There is no god to pray to.

Losing faith in God has made me a better person. When I saw the injustice in this world I used to think to myself, “I’m so glad God will take care of it.” But now when I see these things I think to myself, “If I want that to be taken care of, I’ll have to do it myself.”

I have found a purpose more profound than my pious mind could have ever imagined. I have been given a limited amount of time in this world, and I want to spend that time making the world a better place for the people who share it with me. Be kind to all, because the only opportunity we have to experience something like heaven is this moment, and the limited time that follows.

 

-AD

  13 comments for “My meaning of life

  1. August 2, 2014 at 1:11 am

    DAMN. What a strong post here. I can see what you mean, not believing in cultural deities. Our world is shaped that way, indeed. DAMN MAN! Such a dream killing idea to think about.

    If, “All things are possible through these deities”, why the **** are we beefing overseas? WHY hasn’t this idea of life and our ourselves marinated in the minds of all men, religious or not?

    In a way, you make it seem like believing in a Deistical figure makes one lazy, almost.
    “Let me just pray about it” or “I will let (Insert deity here) work it out.”

    I think people enjoy seeing the world fucked up and burning, honestly. Very negative to say, but that is a thought I cannot shake from the very paradigm that we live in – worldwide.

    • August 2, 2014 at 2:34 am

      Thank you very much for reading.

      “I think people enjoy seeing the world fucked up and burning, honestly.” I’ve noticed the more messed up the world gets the happier the baptists seem to get, they think it’s a sign Jesus will be coming back soon. I find it evil

      • August 2, 2014 at 4:06 am

        The “more” the messed up the world gets, the happier Baptists get? – A really extreme way to ‘praise’ for something no negative….. And you reside within the Bible belt also, what are your thoughts and insights from others that reside outside of the region of this area, the same way?

        I honestly think Einstein’s quote will be in action soon. WWIII – the battle that destroys mankind.

        I like your last statement. Nature / Earth does not need religion, the man-made kingdom that surrounds our human infrastructure, does (unfortunately).

        Heaven is real, mate. Just as it’s opposite. We just reside within the paradigm that refuses Heaven within this Earth, and our current Kingdom is designed around this opposite.

  2. August 2, 2014 at 3:13 am

    An interesting perspective; one you are certainly entitled to.

  3. August 2, 2014 at 11:00 pm

    Well said.

  4. August 3, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    I am angry at my WordPress Reader for missing this post. It will be punished accordingly.

    The thoughts you reach in this post were similar to the ones I had when I read “The Will to Power” by Nietzsche. I remember being slightly angry when I realized that humanity is more responsible for its ills than imaginary constructs. But the profundity you share in this post is truer than anything found in a religious text.

    Certainly I’d offer it as proof that freethought is more capable of helping people than dogma.

    • August 3, 2014 at 3:36 pm

      A suitable, albeit harsh, punishment for your reader would be to read SOM’s comments for 5 minutes. As that would also punish you, I suggest you seek out silenceofmind’s blog, leave your reader there and go cut the grass. That’ll teach it.

      • August 3, 2014 at 9:27 pm

        Actually, I have read SOM’s blog. I remember using the reasoning in his last post to scientifically prove the existence of Cthulhu. He didn’t reply to me after that.

        But my reader is now suitably chastised, and that’s what matters.

      • August 3, 2014 at 9:28 pm

        Haha! Glad to hear that!

      • August 3, 2014 at 9:37 pm

        Haha!

    • August 3, 2014 at 5:59 pm

      Thank you for reading! And I’m a fan of Nietzsche, I just finished beyond good and evil.

Leave a Reply

