Immigration and the Bible

I am not religious, but I find the following verse to be very thought provoking at a time like this, when immigration is such a controversial topic. “The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the Lord your God.” – Leviticus 19:34

Conservatives often respond, “It may be your Christian duty to help these people, but it is not the governments responsibility.” This is an interesting point, and my rebuttal is; then stop saying we are a Christian nation.

 

-AD

  12 comments for “Immigration and the Bible

  1. August 7, 2014 at 5:45 am

    Makes you think. I wonder if I could use the verse on my “Christian Conservative” friends just to see how they react. They tend to not like it when I use the Bible against them. If they throw the Bible in my face saying that Jesus is the only “God” then I can throw it back in there face however I tend to only do that to get my point across when I am passionate about something and I am passionate about immigration.

  2. August 7, 2014 at 6:02 am

    A-men.

  3. August 10, 2014 at 4:59 pm

    Just a try, from one of those evil Conservative people w/regards to that scripture and others from the OT. Some scripture, as you must know, was written for a certain people at a certain time. (Just think of those ones exhorting killing ALL the foreigners, homosexuals, etc). Others are more universally applied; context is king. I’m sure you know all these things if you are science guys and smart guys and such. If lawlessness abounds, people cannot feel stable and as if there is some sort of judgement with non-weighted scales, as it were; which in itself is an abomination, no? The border situation cannot be interpreted in your context, sorry to say. Nice try though.

    • August 10, 2014 at 6:03 pm

      I would have to say the context does much up though. The old testament is filled with verses telling the hebrews to be kind to foreigners for they were once foreigners in Egypt (yes there are also verses about killing foreigners, but we aren’t at war with Mexico).

      Our ancestors were immigrants to the US. At least one of those verses should make a bible reader consider their beliefs about immigration.

      If this nation doesn’t feel that it is its duty to take care of the needy, then it shouldn’t keep calling itself a Christian nation.

      I’d rather we have a non christian nation though, one where we still take care of those in need but without telling them they are going to hell if they don’t convert to Jesus.

      Thank you for reading!

      • August 10, 2014 at 9:19 pm

        You make a good point about the altruism asked of us by a merciful God. However, you don’t address the problem, and it is a problem, of right ways and wrong ways, lawful and unlawful waysl, of doing things. As well, there is nothing inherently wrong about a nation indeed having “borders”, as I’m sure they did in OT times; perhaps if there had been “hordes” the hospitality thing may have a different meaning. Why don’t you consult some OT scholars/Rabbis for a more informed viewpoint? Just a thought. I know some, I’ll ask them.

      • August 10, 2014 at 9:59 pm

        Good thoughts. As an atheist I am not concerned with building a biblical argument.

        The lawful way of doing things in my mind is to follow the William Wilberforce Trafficking Victims Protection Reauthorization Act of 2008, a law Bush signed before leaving office, and give these immigrants the right to plea for asylum. They all deserve the right to a trial and the right to understand what the hell is going on. A lot of these immigrants are children.

  4. August 10, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    I’m confused. I thought you were trying to “build a biblical argument” when using the Lev scripture from the OT. Was that just to rile your Christian fellow debaters perhaps? Since they’re so small minded and all?

    • August 10, 2014 at 10:43 pm

      I was pointing out a contradiction in the language when one says “this a christian nation” AND “I oppose immigration”. Now I do need a little bit of knowledge when it comes to scripture if I am going to accuse that contradiction of its authenticity, but I have read the entire Bible and feel I have a solid case for pointing out that contradiction. I’ve ready many progressive thinkers who would agree with my interpretation of scripture (certainly not all though).

      But I’m not basing my political views off the Bible. That’s what I meant.

      “Since they’re so small minded and all?”

      Quit baiting me lol, I’m not gonna senselessly bash the dissenting opinion because this is the internet. I believe in productive discourse and name calling isn’t that.

      • August 10, 2014 at 10:47 pm

        Ok, but your original point and rebuttal is a form of baiting itself; that’s all I was trying to point out. That’s ok, people do it all the time on the internet. Just cuz you say you’re not doesn’t mean you’re not. Gotta be honest with ourselves in any case. As long as it stays civil and all.

      • August 10, 2014 at 10:57 pm

        Oh yeah this post is me trying to start an argument. I’m not gonna deny that! But that’s what posting opinions online is all about

Leave a Reply

