What is success?

Most men dream of success, and by success I mean being rich and famous. Most of us would say being the best at a talent is the way to the top, but I’d have to disagree. Anyone can get on youtube and find some of the best talent the world has to offer, but some of these incredibly talented people are anything but rich and famous. Why is this?

It is not simply a matter of being good at your talent. You must also be alive at a time when there is demand for your talent, and you must be in the right environment. The best banjo player in the world isn’t going to be even half as successful as the world’s best rapper at this point in time. The same goes for the worlds best author and the worlds best movie director; we know which one is going to be more successful.

The legends are not the most talented people of a time, but rather those who were the best at what the world was demanding for that moment.

 

-AD

  7 comments for “What is success?

  1. August 11, 2014 at 7:23 pm

    I love your approach to the idea of the Success + Talent “formula”, and its addition of the “supply and demand” concept. What a novel methodology! It started me thinking about my own formula for success, which every good blog post should do (get one thinking about one’s own ideals). Thank you for the follow guys, I have returned the flavor (which in this post’s honor is “Successful Salted Caramel with Talent Toffee”, LOL!)…I look forward to more posts like this and hope I can provide you with the same thought-provoking material in the very near future. 🙂 Jamy

    • August 11, 2014 at 9:01 pm

      Thank you for reading! Kindest regards

  2. August 11, 2014 at 10:19 pm

    “The readiness is all,” but so is timing. I know a lot of talented performers who were not there at the right time, and others, less talented, who were. So, is success a luck of the draw?

  3. August 11, 2014 at 11:02 pm

    I’d say I’m successful simply because I’m happy with my life as it is right now. I don’t undersand the need for fame and fortune. I don’t even want to be famous, and $60,000 a year sounds like more than enough to me. But happiness…who could want more?

  4. August 12, 2014 at 12:16 am

    Success is also different for everybody. What may be a success to you may not be a success to me. For example; me getting a job and holding it down for the last 9 years 4 months 1 week and 4 days may not seem like a personal success to you but it is to me because of the struggles I have with a mental illness. We shouldn’t let “society” define success due to the fact that everyone has different abilities and contributes to “society” differently.

    • August 12, 2014 at 12:20 am

      I agree. Everyone has their own personal goals and values. Success is not universal

Leave a Reply

