Everyone should stop being so easily offended, except for me of course.

We are at a point in time where many are saying that everyone should stop being so easily offended, yet these people are quite easy to affront. They wave the confederate flag, screaming it’s a symbol of heritage, and that we shouldn’t be offended by it, but say one thing about their Jesus and they cry persecution, nearly shaking in tears that you have challenged their god.

Yes, people shouldn’t be so easily offended, but let’s not pretend that taking offense is only for the weak. We’ve yet to draw the line as to where exactly seeking to be offended ends and being genially offended begins, but to fly a flag designed by a man who claimed, “It is to demonstrate the superiority of the white race,” while taking offense at me questioning your motives incites many curious thoughts in my mind.

Anti-intellectuals, I find much humor in the fact you scream, “Everyone should stop being so easily offended,” but when I suggest the flag is racist, you take offense with a larger backlash than I would expect from those who are supposedly on the higher ground. Let’s not pretend, we all have values, and we all believe in things worthy of taking offense over when criticized. These particular words are not an attack on those who disagree with me, but an attack on those who say, “Everyone is too easy to offend,” while taking great offense at those who would challenge their ideas.

-AD

  4 comments for “Everyone should stop being so easily offended, except for me of course.

  1. July 7, 2015 at 5:46 pm

    “If someone tells me that I’ve hurt their feelings I’m still waiting to hear what your point is.”

    Hitchens.

    • July 7, 2015 at 5:53 pm

      Haha, I’m a huge fan of Hitchens! Where is that quote from?

      Also, it is good to see you’re back.

      • July 7, 2015 at 5:58 pm

        Thank you. Glad you’re still writing away.

        I can’t remember where it’s from. I want to say a debate he was in. It’s just always stuck with me because I get tired of people saying their offended and never giving any reasons for it – it’s as if their being offended is reason enough.

        It isn’t.

  2. January 6, 2016 at 8:17 am

    Easily offended oneself yet. . . Now I didn’t know I’m this famous :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

