Gorilla Shootin’

Killing an animal to protect a human child is far less upsetting than killing an animal because somebody is craving a burger.

If you care to meet me with reproach over this view, keep in mind that the distinction between which animals are acceptable to kill stems from subjective cultural bias. The distinction is based off of emotion, not rationality.

It’s wrong to kill animals that we put in zoos, but it’s not wrong to kill animals that we put in slaughterhouses is a fairly flimsy philosophy, and it is circular reasoning if you look closely.

 

-AD

  9 comments for “Gorilla Shootin’

  1. May 31, 2016 at 9:49 pm

    are you folks vegetarians?

    I find it disgusting to kill an animal when the animal has done nothing wrong and it was the parent whose intentional actions caused the action to happen. Humans are excused from their stupidity and they should not be.

    • May 31, 2016 at 10:21 pm

      I am indeed a vegetarian.

      I’m of the opinion that the zoo must seriously reconsider their security. A friend just said to me, “It should be idiot proof”. The caretaker of the child must also be held accountable.

      But I do not think the decision to shoot was unjust. If it is necessary to protect the well being of an innocent person, I feel it is justified to kill an animal.

      I am far less upset by this than I am with the meat industry. In this instance there was a clear reason to kill an animal: human safety. While in factory farming it is “people like chicken nuggets”. And this didn’t even take into account the environmental impacts of eating meat.

      • May 31, 2016 at 10:25 pm

        you find human safety the ultimate goal?

        I would also hazard that there is no such thing as idiot proof.

        on the topic of vegetarianism, I’d love to ask you a question if I may: do you think that everyone should eat a vegetarian diet? If so, how varied, say from what American vegetarians can eat to what some folks have no choice in eating, millet porridge for every meal?

      • May 31, 2016 at 10:32 pm

        I find human safety to be more important than animal safety yes, on the premise that humans have a higher capacity for suffering. This is not to say we should ignore animal happiness, but when the two come in conflict I side with humanity (we should also do our best to shape the world in such a way that the two do not come in conflict).

        I do think everyone should adopt a vegetarian diet, actually a vegan diet (I’ve yet to find the willpower to take that step). I’m not sure what you mean by your last sentence, could you elaborate?

      • June 1, 2016 at 10:39 am

        fair enough. I can understand that idea even if I do not agree that there are degrees of suffering.
        I’ll clarify my question about diet: if everyone should adopt a vegetarian/vegan diet, how varied should that diet be? I’m thinking of how one would feed everyone a vegan diet of a variety encountered by a first world person and how that would impact the environment.

      • June 1, 2016 at 3:29 pm

        Well, I personally haven’t made too large a change in my diet from going vegetarian. I pretty much eat everything I used to, but without meat, and more veggies.

        I don’t know what your opinions on GMOs are, but I’m strongly in favor in putting a lot into the technology in order to produce better alternatives for people who want to give up meat and dairy. Lots of meat substitutes are already on the market, some of which are pretty good, a few of which are indistinguishable, and their components could be further engineered to be more nutritional.

        I think the environment could recover greatly from more people adopting a vegan or vegetarian diet.

      • June 1, 2016 at 9:39 pm

        I’m all for GMOs.

        I’m terribly curious, what meat substitutes do you feel are indistinguishable. Every one I’ve ate so far is either meh or gah, that’s awful 🙂

        Let me ask, is it better to grow soy or grain and make a forest a field or have beef and let a grassland be a grassland? I have a lot of hope for the hydroponic stuff and making farms in cities.

      • June 1, 2016 at 9:46 pm

        Check out the brand Gardein, haha. I’ve had fun tricking people with their burgers.

        I’d say the former. Sustaining wheat and soy fields is easier than sustaining a grassland intended for beef. Cattle themselves need additional fields made to grow the crops just to feed them.

        I actually don’t know very much about the science and application of agriculture, though. The life sciences are something I haven’t learned enough about unfortunately.

      • June 1, 2016 at 11:30 pm

        I’m not talking about a pasture for cows, I’m talking about a grassland, a prairie. Cattle do not need additional fields. I grew up on a beef/milk farm and they do not need anything but grass.

        I will try the Gardein brand. Thanks for the recommendation.

Leave a Reply

