Atheist Fairies

Behold the atheist who thinks himself the most noble of man—he who makes charitable giving even more of an egocentric process than the believer. Instead of, “look at how great I am serving the one above us,” it is, “look at how great I am.” The former is abject submission, the latter is ostentation in its highest form.

No, I as a member of the nonreligious do not do good because it’s right, I do it because it is admirable, and I have been conditioned to like feeling admired, in the same way most of the world has. I make no theatrical claims about morality; it is a creed of thought that will bring about a more pleasant existence for those around me, and by consequence, for myself.

There is no need to dress it up, a love for humanity brings about a desired response in the world; this is simple and useful enough on its own.

There is no need for fairies.

 

-AD

  4 comments for “Atheist Fairies

  1. June 1, 2016 at 3:42 pm

    I’m right there with you. There is no heaven and no hell… In fact, we are standing in hell because humanity chose to make a hell out of the earth. Look around…. Look at people’s behavior around the world that is… Hell!

  2. June 1, 2016 at 5:49 pm

    I’m not sure I followed this post. Is “a love for humanity” being considered an egocentric idea?

    • June 1, 2016 at 7:05 pm

      No, the idea that it is more noble to do good despite not being told by God to do so is being considered egocentric.

      I’m pretty much saying there is nothing noble in making the world a better place, because what constitutes the world being a better place is arbitrary, and we are all in fact attempting the shape the world into what we personally want it to be.

      • June 1, 2016 at 7:33 pm

        That’s more egocentric than surrendering your autonomy? I suppose that is true. But only at the level in which it takes responsibility for actions.

Leave a Reply

